Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The type 'Object' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced ...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The type 'Object' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced ...

Hi,
    I am a newbie at .NET development - I'm switching from Java after couple of years. We're starting a project that will need multiple third party libraries, and Bridge seems as a great representation of converter that we need. Although I run into a problem and can't find solution even after long hours of searching. Considering my lack of experience in given technology, I'd be very pleased if you could help me out:

I created a sample project in Visual Studio and added third party dependency injection framework to it via NuGet, called Simple Injector. Then I added Bridge, also using NuGet. After that, it's not possible for me to use even basic functionality of Simple Injector without getting this error:

CS0012 The type 'Object' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'mscorlib, Version=4.0.0.0, ...
    I found out that Bridge actually removes System namespace references and uses its own implementation of many classes.
    I assume that given third party library references original System namespace and therefore problem occurs after removing references.

I guess there has to be this problem with many third party libraries, but I couldn't find any solution that would work for me. Is there any way to set references up correctly?

I'm also including my .csproj file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <Project ToolsVersion="15.0" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003">
      <Import Project="$(MSBuildExtensionsPath)\$(MSBuildToolsVersion)\Microsoft.Common.props" Condition="Exists('$(MSBuildExtensionsPath)\$(MSBuildToolsVersion)\Microsoft.Common.props')" />
      <PropertyGroup>